Modern art and stuff

Yesterday TV show – today art museum, I’m so cultural!

 

I have never been to an art museum in New York before so I did that today. I went to MoMA, Museum of Modern Art. There was a lot of cool stuff, but also a lot of crap. Especially the installation showing crap.

 

There were many famous paintings, e.g. from Picasso, Monet, Matisse and van Gogh. It was cool to see some of the originals from Andy Warhol, but the coolest was that they had Persistence of Memory (the melting clocks) by my favorite artist Salvador Dalí. It was much smaller than I had expected.

 

They had a temporary exhibit that was very cool. It was Tim Burton. Apparently he have painted a lot before his movie career took off. It was mostly sketches, drawings and cartoons, but also advertisings and other. Very cool and funny. There was a very dark humor in many of the cartoons. Then to every movie he himself have done artwork and story lines of how he wants it to look. There was also a lot of props from his movies. Batman’s hood from those movies, the puppets used for Corpe’s Bride, the scissor hands from Edward Scissorhands, the knives from Sweeney Todd and much more. A very cool exhibit. Unfortunately you weren’t allowed to take photos in that part of the museum.

 

Very many things in the museum, but many things were just ugly and crap. There are so many varieties in the concept of modern art, so you can wonder if you really can have just one name for all of that. But many things didn’t look like they belonged in a art museum. But I was still pleased with the visit.

 

All of Warhol’s 32 soup cans (they all have a different label)


Some kind of orgy, by Picasso


Persistence of Memory, Salvador Dalí


I liked this one. Student With Pipe, by Picasso

 

I have also walked around in Greenwich Village today in the afternoon. IT was very cozy and I sat down at a café and took a coffee. That is as much cliché you get in New York, but that is okay.

 

Squirrel in Greenwich Village

 

Tonight I will mostly walk around in my neighborhood, Garmency District. I’ll try to find some small place to eat and then go out to take some night photos. Flatiron Building isn’t far from here. So maybe something from there.  Will try to get to bed pretty early tonight. Tomorrow I set off for Washington DC to visit Daniel before I finally comes back to Santa Barbara.

 

My stay in New York has been fantastic. I’ve had time to do a lot of things, walked around a lot and just took care of myself in my own path.

 

Even though I’m still here I’m already longing back. I really love this city.