Page editing, article, interviews – and a big fat pizza

Yesterday, Monday, I did my first page editing here in America. We who take the class JOURN122 (continuation of the school newspaper) have to be part of the production, which mostly is editing. It was to do that in America as well, even though the American newspapers are SO ugly.

 

I got a really hard page too. A knee with a corner ad ¼ of the page, and with two articles of equal size and no photos. Maybe that says nothing if you haven’t done editing, I can tell you it’s is a hell. Took a long time to get it to look good. One of the texts we (or, mostly the news editor Kyle) had to cut a lot in. The other article we decided was “more important” so it got a the right half page, and I added some illustrations of a leaf and a recycling logo (the text was about the school’s green center) and I also added a lot of blank space. To be an almost impossible page it turned out not to bad.

 

Tomorrow, Wednesday, the paper comes out. In there is also my first article for this semester. It’s about the new transfer rules. Because of technical errors it’s already posted online, so here goes:

http://www.thechannelsonline.com/news/statewide-transfer-from-sbcc-simplified-1.1597895


I have already done my first things for my next article, about how it’s now much easier to get rid of bad grades. Think it can be a big debate over this, I hope at least.

 

Another funny thing from today: I talked to the Academic Senate’s secretary and she was putting my name in the protocol from last meeting. She got impressed by my name:

"Your name is Hammerby? Wow, that sounds so powerful, like a really important person"

That made my day =)

 

The soccer last night was extremely good. I ran and ran like never before. It is my thing in soccer. I can keep going for as long as possible, I always find open areas and run around and gets the opponents tired. Yesterday there was another player in my team that was very good at scoring.  So the two of us as strikers, we were invincible. I ran free, ran away from the opponents, found him and he scored. It was so much fun watching the tired opponents:

“Red shirt (the other guy) keeps scoring and scoring, and black shirt (me) keeps running and running. It’s not fair!”

Haha!

 

When I got home Ola was ready to order food from Domino’s and asked me if I wanted anything. What the heck, I thought, and ordered a big fat pizza. And I got it. First pizza this semester. But it was way too big. And too fat. I didn’t eat all of it, but was then so full. And felt kinda bad for eating way too much and way too fat food. Didn’t even have to eat any early lunch today. So next time I won’t take a Cali Chicken Bacon Ranch, thick crust, tomatoes and white sauce. No matter how tasty it is.

 

But withh normal (that is thick) crust