So much fun with the journalism right now

Right now I’m working on two journalist tasks, and both of them have shown me how much I love the journalistic field and that this really is the right thing for me. And I’ve also got praise for my work!

 

The first thing I have been working on now for a week and I have almost gone nuts over how hard some people are get in contact with.

The story is about the new transfer rules. Already last Thursday when I got the assignment I called and emailed the Transfer Center to set up an interview. No response. Called and emailed again Friday, but nada. Then long weekend and Tuesday I once again called and emailed. I also went there to meet them in person. Nothing. Wednesday once again email, phone call and visit. I then got the name of another person to contact, and then, finaly, late Wednesday evening I got an email saying we could meet Thursday 8.45 am. Finally! So I went there early this morning, and it was a really great interview.

Later today I’m going to a transfer workshop for students, so there I will get quotes from both students and instructors, and also see how it’s done. I have a feeling that this will be a very good article.

 

The other thing I went to last night. It was the first meeting in my beat-to-cover, Academic Senate. It consists of one represent of each department (biology, English, TV production, administration and so on). I was afraid it was gonna be a boring meeting, but it was actually very interesting. Professors and teachers in fiery debates and a lot of interesting and important topics. I got ideas for a couple of articles. The big story is new rules for Academic Renewal, when students can scratch bad grades. Those in favor of the idea means that students should get a second chance and not be suffering from choosing the wrong class once or taking on a too hard class. Those against says that this can lead to students just partying and drinking an entire semester and then just wipe out there bad grades. There were long discussions and it can be a really good story.

For The Channels class today I had written a fully story proposal and I got a lot of praise from the teacher, the editors and others. I feels so good.

 

These two things have shown me how fun I think journalism is and coming up with solutions on how to fix problems and what from the beginning seems like dull stories. I can do it, and it’s so much fun. This is really my future.