Friends in Stockholm and Tall Ships in Halmstad

It was so freakin awesome in Stockholm. A few intensive days with a lot of nice reunions, all with people I got to know in foreign lands the past two years.

 

The first days, I spend with Ola and Mariana. They met at the wedding in Brazil, and she is in Sweden for a month this summer. It was really nice to see them both again.

 

We went out both Thursday and Friday. Friday we also had time to have a guided tour at the Royal family’s home, the Castle of Drottningholm, and also have dinner with Ola’s family out on the island Ekerö.

 

 

Outside Ola's apartment we found a glowing-in-the-dark playground, where we played after a night out


I appreciate the art treasure of Drottningholm

 

 

Saturday I went in to the town and met Gaby. It was so nice to see her again. We was first at her place and then went shopping. In the evening  we went to Saltsjöbaden to attend a party with Maria T, another one from Santa Barbara. Another SB person, Emmelie, was also there, as well as lots of other people.  It was a great night with bbq and monster drinks.

 

In the Sunday I got to see Sahar well before I went home by bus. So in total I met six people that I got to know at different times and stages of my life in the US.

 

 

In Halmstad there has been the Tall Ships Races. It is a big competition with really big ships, but also a ginormous event in Halmstad. At the newspaper we have written about it for months now. I worked all week, and I spent my entire Saturday at the event, walking around in the sun. It was really nice, and luckily the weather was as well.

 

Photo: Emma Gustafsson/Hallandsposten

 

Another fun thing with my articles, was one I wrote about the feared traffic chaos that was to occur because of the event. Damn, people got mad! Not at me or the article it self, but the fact that there will be lines and traffic problems, so there were so many angry comments, I think over 60. Pretty funny.

 

Here is the link, but it’s only in Swedish I’m afraid.

http://hallandsposten.se/nyheter/halmstad/1.1314490--undvik-att-kora-i-centrum-

 

Today is the last day of my nine-days-in-a-row-shift. Then I have one day off. My last day of work this summer is Sunday. Then I don’t know what’s gonna happen. I do know one thing, though. I miss Santa Barbara so much. But that, I will write about longer in an upcoming post.