Eddie Izzard!

My seat was much better than it appears on this photo. Had a great spot actually. But I didn't bring my good camera.

 

I have been around quite a lot these days I have been in Sweden. Thursday I got here and went to Getinge, Friday to my relatives in Småland, Saturday up to Gothenburg. Yesterday there was this very nice Christmas party at Anna and Anders’ place (where I’m also staying) with Christmas beer, snacks and presents. Then also out to the pubs of Gothenburg.

 

Today I have met Tina for the first time since this summer. Very fun, we ate and talked for a long time. Very nice.

 

Today I have had one of the funniest evenings in my life. I have seen Eddie Izzard live on stage at the arena Scandinavium. I have liked him for many years and many of his shows contain humor that is among the best ever made. So I was so thrilled this summer when I found out that he was coming to Gothenburg.  I was very excited and had also very high expectations.

 

And they came true! The whole show was extremely funny from the start to the end. Eddie though had no women’s clothes today. Jeans, shirt and jacket. He was “under cover transvestite” today, he said. But he had some emergency make up back stage if that would be necessary.

 

The topics of the show were sort of a walkthrough of the history. From everything’s creation to the dinosaurs (a very funny bit), ancient Egypt, the Stone Age, Hannibal and other stuff. Also many biblical things, like Creation, Noah’s Ark, The Exodus and the Ten Commandments. It was mostly completely new material, but he also made references to old jokes from other shows (”I’m covered in beeeeees!”). I had hoped for more stuff about Sweden but some things about the pronunciation of Gothenburg/Göteborg was good. All fact he has learned on Wikipedia, he said :)

 

A little more than 2 hours entertainment with clever jokes, funny sounds, dance and mimic. I really love how he always comes back to jokes he said earlier in the evening. Laughter almost constantly and well invested money. I am so happy!

 

And don’t forget:

 

You shall not cover thy neighbor’s ox!