Sunsets, football and many car rides in the trunk

This is were I run my jogging routes

Hello!

Now, all of you in the cold Europe will become very sour on me. Because I'll start today's post by complaining about the sunny weather.

I was out the other day and took pictures. In a couple of weeks, we have for the photo class an assignment where we should take pictures of the weather, that kind images that could fit into a newspaper for an article or image note. "The problem" here in Santa Barbara is the following: It is always the same weather! On the day it is sunny, maybe a bit foggy in the morning and at night it is dark. That's it! Since I came here in August, it has rained three times. Clouds, it is very rare.

I know I should not complain about that. And from a personal standpoint I do not either, I love the weather here (although it could perhaps be liiiittle bit warmer, please). But purely in terms of photo lesson, it's a disaster. What to take pictures of? Since the weather is always the same so it is very difficult to think of anything that might be of interest or newsworthy. Last Thursday when I went out and ran, it was cloudy and the sunset was so amazingly nice mixed into the clouds and mountains. It had been a perfect photograph, I thought. But I had no camera with me. So next day I biekd away to the beach with the camera when it was sunset. Took a lot of pictures. There were no clouds, but quite nice nonetheless.

I know that pictures of sunsets are the most cliché-ridden type of photos there is. Everybody take pictures like that, especially when they are on vacation. But since the weather here is so monotonous, I’ll maybe get one of those three weather pictures in a few weeks become a sunset if I do not think of something really creative or some cool weather will occur.

Friday night was the movie. See review of the film in 2012 in post below.

 

We disrupted Lauren all the time, but she still took the time to check out her own cheerleaders and photographers:)

After a kinda hard work out on Andrei Aggasis gym on Saturday (I have not had as much training stiffness that I thought I would have), it was football that mattered. SBCC had its last home game of the season. I did not go for footballer's sake, but because I had told Cecily, Lauren and Linnea that I was to come and watch, because it was their last cheerleading too.

The game was good. After having sucked all season, SBCC was really on the go against East LA. They managed to keep pace, but too many mistakes made that they could not subtract. After full time it was even, 46-46.

The cheerleading was also good. But I believe that Lauren was a bit embarrassed by us. I, Elyse, Elyse's friend Amanda who come visiting from Maryland and one of the Elyesa friends sat in the front row and had our own cheerleading for Lauren. A lot of "Go Lauren” and other chants, and I took a tonne of pictures, it was great fun. Do not know how much fun Lauren thought it was, but she seemed pretty amused. However, so was not her other cheer friends. They probably thought we ruined their performance.

Cecily thought it was funny when we "disturbed" her.

After completing the four quarters we thought it was an extension so we the bench went away to buy drinks. As a quarterback in football is not 15 minutes but as long as it possibly can we thought we would have plenty of time.

We were on our way to Albertsons, but then we got a call that the game was over (CC had lost :/) and that we should move on to the party. I did not know where it was, but I just went along in and before I knew it we were on the highway towards IV.

After drink purchases (and drop off of Elyse’s friend) we first came home to Elyse, where she and Amanda was getting ready we continued to Cecily where we thought we were going to preparty. We could not, however, cause both had one of her room mates gone to bed, and so had the other an own party there. So we had to go somewhere else.

The problem, however, was: We were 6 people and there are 5 seats in a car. We proposed that a person could go in the trunk, and I put up as a volunteer.

It was not as bad as it sounds. Elyse’s car is a jeep and it has a large trunk, which is interlinked with the rest of the car, and I had the window. However, I had to lie down so the police could not see me, so I had no idea where we went. I didn’t see the other, but only half heard what they said, which led to where I would get into conversations, so it was kinda funny.

We drove around a lot during the evening / night and wewere in a lot of different parties in both Santa Barbara, Isla Vista and Goleta. It was fun at every party (most fun in Victoria!) And we had great fun in the car too :)

People got drunk and happy; we went to Freebirds and bought the night-food (burritos!) And then went home to Cecily where we were many who were sleeping.

Today, Sunday, has looked like last week's Saturday. We were a bunch from yesterday that today was at a picnic on the beach in Carpinteria. It was very nice, despite the noicy birds and even louder rude bitches next to us :P I was really not dressed for the beach because I had yesterday's clothes on me, but it still worked out fine anyway. I am waiting to see a picture that Amanda took of me when I jump on the beach. It was very cool and will be my new profile picture on Facebook when I get it :)

The beach in Carpenteria

Then it was into town and go into a lot of stores. Since I was the only guy with along a lot of girls we went to so many girls shops. A store with only handbags? Woho... But we had fun anyway and walked and talked and watched the serious and unserious outfits.


Now awaits one more week with a lot of photohomeworks and a journalism test on Tuesday. I’ll see if I can move into my room. I slept on a lot of places in the last week, but not in my own room. Hope that it is completely dry and mold-free soon.

Just figured out that I had not had any images on the oil rigs! Therefore:

Whatever one thinks about oil and stuff it's really cool to see the big oil platforms (they do not look so big out here but they are). 9 of them, I have counted between Santa Barbara and the Channel Islands. Especially cool in the night when they are illuminated.