Fires just for us

It became a long entry today. But it contains many cool things.

 

Wow, today the photojournalism class has been just so cool! We were at the fire departments training facilities taking photos of firefighters in action.

 

This was one of the things I have looked the most forward to. Just the fact that the schedule tells us to wear clothes we don’t care that much about is cool. We were warned that we were to get wet and dirty. And we did.

 

First there was a lecture with one of the firemen. It was very interesting and he taught us a lot about how to act when you’re at a accident scene or fire, where to stand to get the best pictures and how to best work with the authorities. Good things to know and funny.

 

But then the real fun stuff began. Staged thing! There was only our class there, so everything they did they did for us only. That’s very cool.

 

 


Fire fighter with smoke helmet


First thing fire fighters with smoke helmets. They filled up a room with smoke and lights and then a firefighter crawled the floor pretending to search through the room. He kept on crawling there back and forth while we were shooting pictures. Then we went out and got replaced by those who didn’t fit in the room at the same time as us, and the fire fighter kept crawling.

 

A was knee standing in this room. I now have to stains with sot on my knees.


 


Here comes the fire truck


Everything wasn’t in a chronological order, as it would happen during a real fire. The next step was for the fire truck to arrive. We shot pictures while it arrived, flashing the lights (but not the sirens, since you don’t need those for photos). They jumped out, attached the hose to the fire hydrant, turned on the water and ran in to the house, all occurring with us running around them taking pictures.

 


Firefighters entering the house


Next stop was in the room where soaked the room with the hose. Here it was so wet! I didn’t get that many good pictures, cause my camera got all wet and I didn’t have time to clean the lens. And I didn’t have that good spot to stand at.

 


It was very wet in this room


The last thing was to set a car on fire. The used propane gas to light the fire in an old car wreck. The oaked it with the hose up until we were satisfied.

I didn’t get that good pictures of the flames itself, but kinda good photos of the extinguishing.


 


Putting out a fire in a car

When we were to bike home we got a new good surprise. A guy called Matt was to drive home and asked me, Maria and Maria if we wanted a ride. So he put our bikes in the back of his pickup truck and drove us home.

 

This was actually the second time today I got a ride home today.

 

Today I went to and back from school with Cecily. She picked me up this morning and we went to Starbucks. Finally some good coffee and not the watery crap they have in school. After journalism class he drove me home, so today I haven’t needed to walk or bike home at all! That’s good. Btw, hope your knee gets better Cecily!

 

The class today was a journalism test. It was hard, but I hope it turned out fine. Now all my midterms and tests are over for this time!

 

In the long 6 hour free time I went to the beach. I fell asleep and it was just so sweet. I guess that’s what’s happening if you stay up all night chatting. But it was funny.

 

We have no internet at home right now. It sucks like hell. So now I’m sitting here writing my blog entries in Swedish and English, I’m sorting tonight’s photos and watching Scrubs and South Park. Chilly. But I WANT MY INTERNET BACK! Fail house. Later when I get internet back I will post these entries.