Live blog about the worst trip in my life, it turned out

Hey! Time again for my live blog! Or, it’s not really live. It’s written like it was live, but is published when I get Internet. But, shit the same. Here we go:

 

Sunday January 10th 7:16 PM Danish time, Copenhagen Airport

At first the train trip here went fine, but then the problems came. The ride was quick and I was playing Empire Earth. A good thing with that game is that it takes forever to get anywhere. That’s nice for my long stays at airports. But then something happened when I was to leave the train. The doors didn’t open! We were several people pushing the buttons to try to open the door but nothing happened, and outside others pushed the buttons. But it was stuck, and then the train started to roll and was now heading away from the airport to downtown Copenhagen. PANIIIIC!!!!

 

No staff was to be seen either.  We got to the Centralstation. We tried to talk to the staff there but they didn’t seem to care. But they pointed us in the direction of where the trains to the airport were. We took one of those.

 

It was fun to talk to the others who also “missed” the stop at the airport. Two middle aged couples that were heading for the Dominican Republic.

 

I got to the airport. I ate and after security I walked around among the stores. Now I’m sitting and waiting for my flight that leaves in 45 minutes. Have bought coffe. I am at the wrong gate, just to be able to use the power cable for the computer.

 

 

7:28

I could be brown, I could be blue, I could be viiiiooleeeet skyyyyyy!

 

 

7:33

I haven’t brought my little camera. Couldn’t find it. And my system camera is in some bag. So I will take my live blog pictures with the webcam on my laptop.

 

Here am I at Kastrup/Copenhagen International Airport.

 

Now I will get to my gate. Talk to you up in the sky!

 

My coffee is still very hot btw.

 

 

9:17 PM Swedish/Danish time, somewhere over the ocean

 

Flying. Again. That is nice. But one thing that isn’t nice is that the food and drinks are not free on this flight, as it has been before. Damn Scandinavian Airlines. But the steward gave me a glass of water because he felt sorry for me. That was kind of him.

 

Don’t know if I will buy anything. I have a lot of Danish coins that it would be nice to get rid of. But I only have 17 DKK (~3$) and all I can get for that is a can with tonic water or chips.  Iäll see if I get anything.

 

I found a lottery ticket in my pocket, that I was supposed to hand in to receive my win. 100 SEK (~14$). That means I have money to live for by the summer at least…

 

9:27 PM

Turbulence. The plane is shaking. You can buy a Twix chocolate bar for 15 Danish kroner I also noticed now.

 

9:35 PM

Are we landing already? We are early. That means more waiting in London…

 

10:27 PM, London time, Costa Coffee, Heathrow Airport

 

HOLY FUCKING COCK SUCKING SHIT!!!

 

This is not happening! This is what is now shown on the information table about flights:


06:50                  Dublin                Aer Lingus        EI149                  CANCELLED

 

What do you mean, cancelled!? It can’t be! I have a plane to New York to catch! And I can’t get any information either. Aer Lingus has closed their window and won’t be back until tomorrow morning at 5 AM. And it isn’t shown on the board why it should be cancelled.

 

The airport information isn’t to any help either. “You’ll have to ask your airline company” was the answer to all my questions.

 

So now I just have to sit here and wait for the morning and see what happens. Apparently there are many flights to Dublin, but I only have one hour until my flight to America is to take off.

 

And another thing: What is this kind of electrical outputs that they have? Something with three sticks that I’ve never seen before. So if I don’t find and adapter I won’t even have my computer during the night. Fucking shit again.

 

I’m at a café now. Bought a cola and a hot sandwich. At least that was good.

 

But everything feels like shit right now. And I don’t have anyone to talk to about it =(

 

Now I will just listen to sad music until the battery dies.

 

 

10:50 PM.

Fail trip. Will watch something funny instead.

 

11:40 PM

Have watched Swedish comedy shows Time Out and Räkfrossa. I’ll see if I can get an adapter, cause the battery is soon to die.

 

11:56 PM

The computer problem is solved! A very big thank you to Ali at the coffee place. I asked if there were any stores open where I could buy an adapter, but everything was closed. But Ali said that he probably could help me. He took one of those wodden thing that you usually use to stir your coffee with and stuck into one of the holes. By doing that the other holes changed and my cable could fit. So now I have bought a big coffee and can sit by the computer for as long as I want to. I’ll have some fun then until 5 AM when I will go down to start nagging on Aer Lingus.

 

02:07 AM Monday January 11th

Stop doing Islamic cooking jokes for fuck sake!

I’m attacked by jellyfishes!

singing: We got very good parking for ships

That’s what it has sounded like the last two hours. I have been watching Eddie Izzard’s show Sexie. Nice to something good with Britain after my experience of their airport.

I have moved. They were to clean where I was sitting. I managed to plug in the cable at my new spot by myself. Using Ali’s wooden-thing-trick.

 

04:44 AM

Have had a couple of hours with more humor. One episode of Varan-TV and the rest of the episodes of Räkfrossa.

 

There are a lot of good looking girls here. But everyone is asleep.

 

Now I’m soon off to Aer Lingus. They open in 15 minutes. Let’s see if there will be a flight.

 

6:07

Aer Lingus… What a joke! We were several that stood for a long time waiting that the airline would open up there window. They were inside there. Guess they were scared of us. They didn’t say anything way the flight was cancelled, but at least I now got booked to another flight. Instead of 6:50 I will now take the plane 7:50. One more hour at Heathrow! ¤%/&¤%/#%&/#%¤%/#%¤”

That flight will land around 9:10 I think. The flight to New York leaves at 10:30. But on the boarding card it says that the gate closes at 8:45. But it couldn’t be like that, can it? I mean, they couldn’t close the gate almost two hours before it takes off. What will the people do in the airplane? Or, it could very likely be happening. Cause then I will miss that flight too and that would just be significant for this whole trip.

 

Me at Heathrow. Almost amused….

 

10:20 AM, Dublin Airport, by my gate

The plane from London was delayed (surprise, surprise!) I managed to sleep on the plane, though and that was nice. And I got to Dublin but here I had to hurry to get to my gate in time. That was unnecessary. We haven’t started the boarding yet. Am still here. Cause this flight is delayed too.

I guess I must try to find something positive. And I can, by saying that Dublin Airport is a very nice and cozy airport. If it wasn’t that I was so stressed today and pissed about all the problems I think I could have liked it here if I were to wait here instead.

Now they will start boarding the plane. Let’s hope there will be no more problems.

 

 

12:50 BACK AT DUBLIN AIRPORT!

I want to cry, but I’m to tired to do that. I hate everything right now. I hate England, I hate Irland, but most of all I hate Aer Lingus. We got away pretty delayed from Dublin and I started to sleep. But then, after 30 or 60 minutes I woke up from the speaker system. I missed the beginning of the announcement since I was sleeping.

“This is your captain speaking. yada yada yada something, so therefore we have GO BACK TO DUBLIN”.

I thought I should die. Off course this had to happen.

Apparently there was some technical problem and they had to turn back to fix it. When we were to land all the runways next to ours were filled with fire trucks and ambulances ready for action with their blue lights on.  But we landed safe and the rescue vehicles could return to the airport.

 

We have to stay in the pane. Technicians are now going through the plane to find what’s wrong. Then they will decide whether we go back up in the air or if we have to take another plane.

Us passengers doesn’t know anything. Except that we will have a several hours delay to New York. I was supposed to be there the whole day. That will not happen. The whole reason why I left so early in the mornig was so that I could have the whole Monday for my vacation there. That is now ruined by Aer Lingus. When we are up in the air again I will write a long letter to them about all the problems they have caused me today.

If we get away, that is. That we don’t know for sure. And what will happen during the next flight? I haven’t lost any of my luggage and the plane haven’t crashed. Yet. So maybe something like that?

 

1:04 PM

The captain is speaking. It was something wrong with the navigation system. It is suppose to be fixed now so now they will refuel and stuff like that. 30-45 minutes we will stay here.

 

 

1:09 PM

Can’t they at least turn on the entertainment system while we are waiting?

 

1:15 PM

It is fail. It’s the 10’s. And it’s raining.

 

1:17

The man nest to me has solved his sudoko very fast.

 

1:42 PM

Now we are about to take off

 

7:22 PM London time, somewhere over Canada.

Or, above a city called Fredericton according to the flight map at the entertainment system. We have 1 hour and 14 minutes till we should be in NY.

So far this flight has worked out as it should.

I have slept quite some, but also watched movies. Or, to be honest, one and a half plus tv shows. 2 ½ men, Friends and Simpsons I saw, but when I started to watch the movie District 9 I fell asleep. But I did see another movie. A High School movie starring Hayden Panetteiere. Actually good and funny. Some unexpected stuff, but very much predictable, but that was okay. This one was the best thing today.

 

6:15PM New York time, my hotel room

Okay, Now I’m good. I feel wonderful. Have been out walking on Manhattan and now I’ve got my hotel room. I have a own little room with view over Union Square.

 

Will take a shower and get ready and then take a little walk in the city. Find something to eat. Will not do that much tonight, but I don’t have to. I am in New York City. Yeeeeeeah!