UN, NY Rangers and New York by night.

It has been a long and lovely day today. Have had time to do a lot. And the evening was the best.

 

The day I spent a lot walking around Midtown. Then I went to the UN Headquarters. Took a guided tour. Nice to get in there and see a lot, like the General Assembly.

 

Was also in St Patrick’s Cathedral.

 

Have seen some Swedish stuff today. At the UN there were things about Dag Hammarskjöld and Raoul Wallenberg, and then also Church of Sweden and the restaurant Akvavit, founded by Swedish chef Marcus Samuelsson.

 

But tonight it was finally time for the highlight of the week – a hockey game with the New York Rangers. I have been a fan of them since the early 90s but never seen them live. Untill tonight. Game against New Jersey Devils.

 

Oh! My! God! It was so incredible amazing. IT’s hard to describe the feeling when I entered the hall and saw the ice, flags, people wearing game jerseys, everything you recognize.

The game was very entertaining, but it was the goalies’ game. After full time it was still 0-0. Henrik Lundqvist had saved 45 shots and Martin Brodeur 51. It got to the shootouts. But, geez, the players sucked! After the regular penalty shots it still was 0-0. But then there was a goal, but unfortunately it was the Devils who did it. So a lost, but one point to the Rangers. It was bad, but my experience was amazing anyway.

 

Me before the game


Rangers best player – Henrik Lundqvist (my new telephoto lens is working very good!)

 

 

After the game I didn’t want to go home. I walked around Midtown and went to Rockefeller Center. I have been up in GE Building before, but not at night. It is a great view during the day, and by night I’d heard it would be amazing. And it was. New York City by night, it is just so beautiful. I was there taking a l lot of night photos, but sometimes I just sat there looking out. So beautiful.

 

But on the top it was very cold. At the very top of the 70th floor there is no glass protecting, so the wind blows straight in. And being below freezing, and then be there in the wind, that equals cold. Otherwise it hasn’t been cold here, but there I had to surrender and go down to the glassed 69th before I got all of my pictures. But I got a lot of nice ones at the end anyway.

 

Looking south at Manhattan


Some of the city


As I said before, my new zoom lens works well


(more pictures in a few days on Facebook)