Important journalism assignments and girls from Cali

Today was the first deadline for the school newspaper The Channels, that will be out in an online edition Wednesday. I have nothing in this paper, which is kinda nice. Instead of writing that I have had time to do other things these first two weeks.

But I will get a lot more to do with the newspaper this fall. We are to cover one beat, one area and always talk to the persons responsible for those areas and then come up with ideas for articles.  I have got one of the most important beats. Together with the news editor Kyle I will cover Academic Senate, that are responsible for what happens in the school, and the Board of Trustees, who makes all the decisions. I will have the primary responsibility for the Senate, and then help Kyle with the Board of Trustees when it’s required, and the opposite around.

This is kinda cool actually. It feels very good that I‘ve got this trust to take care of these important things. It will be fun to work with. But I have though heard that those meetings can be pretty boring, but we’ll see Wednesday when the Academic Senate has their first meeting.

 

Gaah, I’ve had a song stuck in my head for a whole week now. It is Katy Perry’s California Gurls. Katy is from Santa Barbara, and she lives here with her boyfriend Russell Brand. Many of my friends have seen them downtown, but I haven’t yet.

The song is about how great the girls from California are. And I agree. They are really something. Swedish girls are still good too, though. But the Cali girls have the advantage of the year around being tanned and not fully dressed with thick clothes.

So, just to get it stuck in your heads too, here it is. The video is a bit weird, and takes place in the candy land Candyfornia. Snoop Dogg is btw always cool.

 

Well, okay. Off course the record company has decided that you cannot embed the clip. So, here is the link to the YouTube video.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CwE-SLnLkqY&ob=av2e

 

West coast represent!